What's new at AWSC!

  • People and Pets - Seminar 21st March - ONLINE!!

    People and Pets - Seminar 21st March - ONLINE!!

    Free Public Seminar.

    Visit http://www.animalwelfare.net.au/article/scientific-seminars to view, listen and download presentations

    AWSC and Lort Smith Animal Hospital present a FREE seminar

    "PEOPLE and PETS"

    Friday 21st March

    1.45 - 4.45pm

    NAB Auditorium, 800 Bourke St, Docklands.


    “The welfare of dogs; what’s the problem?”  

    Professor Kevin Stafford, Massey University

    “The emotional lives of dogs - particularly those confined to backyards”

    Dr Robert Holmes, Animal Behaviour Clinics

    “It's a (shelter) dog's life: just how important is human contact?”

    Sally Haynes, AWSC PhD student

    “Measuring anxiety in dogs”

    Dennis Wormald, AWSC PhD student

    “Food for thought: what motivates people to feed stray cats?”

    Miranda Coffey, AWSC Masters student

    Bookings: www.animalwelfareseminar.eventbrite.com.au

    Inquiries: pr@lortsmith.com

  • 2014 Science Innovation Award

    2014 Science Innovation Award

    The Australian Government's Department of Agriculture recently awarded Megan Verdon with the 2014 Science and Innovation Award in the pork category, which is supported by Australian Pork Limited. The awards recognise innovative scientific projects that will contribute to the ongoing success and sustainability of Australia's agricultural industries.

    Fuelled by her post-graduate education at the Animal Welfare Science Centre, where she met her first sow, "and fell in love", Megan is now one of the key emerging welfare and animal housing researchers in the Australian pork industry. Megan, who has previously studied aggressive behaviour in the sow, will use her award to study the effects of socialisation of pre-weaning piglets has on aggression and welfare later in life. "As is the case for many social animals", says Megan, "neonatal and early experiences can have substantial effects on the development of behaviour. Through early socialisation, pigs may reduce aggressive behaviour later in life."

    Megan is pictured receiving her award from Barnaby Joyce (Australian Minister for Agriculture) and Kim Ritman (ABARES Chief Scientist), Andrew Spencer, CEO of Australian Pork Limited is also pictured congratulating Meagan on her award.

    (Photos courtesy Steve Keough Photography)


  • Prof Jim Kinder - AAAS Fellow

    Prof Jim Kinder - AAAS Fellow

    Prof. Jim Kinder (OSU) has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of his scientific efforts to advance science and its application.

    Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and the tradition of electing AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Jim was elected for his distinguished contributions in reproductive endocrinology research, and as an administrator in the College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and will be welcomed as a Fellow at a ceremony in Chicago in February 2014. Jim was instrumental in formalizing collaborations between The Ohio State University and the AWSC which resulted in OSU joining the Centre in 2010 and is currently interim director of the Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute, and is assisting AWSC in our efforts to further the uptake of ProHand® in North America.


Animal Welfare Science Centre is a joint centre of:

The University of Melbourne
The Ohio State University
Department of Environment and Primary Industries Victoria

English  Español


Back To Top